Isley Receives Naismith Coaches Award

(Rockingham County, NC) – In 2009, for the first time in the nation, the Naismith Coaches Award was presented to a high school coach in Rockingham County, Jimmy Teague.

This national award is named for the late Dr. James Naismith, the inventor of basketball.  The Naismith Coaches Award was created to honor a present or former coach who represents sportsmanship, character, teamwork, service, integrity, honor and excellence.

The 2016 Naismith Coaches Award, sponsored by the Naismith Legacy Group and Rockingham County Schools, was presented to Rockingham County High School Women’s Softball Coach and Assistant Women’s Basketball Coach, Scott Isley.

Pictured: Dennis Drennon – Naismith Legacy Group, Scott Isley, Dr. Rodney Shotwell – Superintendent

Additional Rockingham County Schools Naismith Award recipients:

2010 – Greg Frey, former Morehead High wrestling coach

2011 – Woody Wall, Rockingham County High girl’s basketball coach

2012 – Bob Bailey, former McMichael High Athletic Director

2013 – Marty Woods, McMichael High volleyball coach

2014 – Lin Stadler, former Rockingham County High football coach.

2015 – Jim Wilson, former Rockingham County Schools Athletic Director

2016 – Pat Sedlock, former McMichael High School Men’s and Women’s Golf Coach

Rockingham County Schools News Release  •  May 31, 2017  •  K. Hyler, PIO


Order Yours Today !


Click HERE To View Additional FLYERS


Short URL:

Posted by on Jun 10 2017. Filed under Featured, Local, National & World News, Prep, Regional & State News, Rock Co Public Schools. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Please Read Our COMMENTS POLICY before Posting Your Reply Below.

Comments are closed


ad ad

ad ad

ad ad

ad ad